Mexican Hot Chocolate

My daughter had a friend over today so I thought I´d take a batch of cream cheese cookie dough out of the freezer and let them have at it.  I let them stud the dough with candy chucks before shaping into little balls and baking.

Ready for the oven

Meanwhile, I found an old O Magazine recipe from ´04 or ´05 for Mexican hot chocolate and I decided to give it try.

It turned out great!  I omitted the espresso in order to make it kid friendly.  I used slightly more chocolate (and used semi sweet, instead of unsweetened) as well as a bit of cocoa powder. I also added nutmeg, and more almond extract than O suggegested. I´m thinking of playing around even more with the recipe and adding cayenne pepper next time.  Also, maybe skipping the almond extract and adding a vanilla bean.

Mexican Hot Chocolate

adapted from O Magazine

4 ounces semisweet chocolate

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

Pinch of salt

1 tbs finely grated orange zest

1 1/2 cups water

4 cups milk

1 1/2 tsp almond extract

1) Combine chocolate, cocoa powder, orange zest, salt, sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon, and 1 1/2 cups water in medium sized pot, over low heat.

2) Stir together until mixture it smooth.

3) Raise temp. and bring to a boil.  Then reduce heat and let simmer for 5 minutes.

4) Stir in milk and almond extract.  Reheat without bringing to a boil.

5) Remove the pot from heat and whisk hot chocolate until it is nice and frothy.

One comment

  1. Yummy! I want to come over for some Mexican hot chocolate!

Leave a Reply

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

My Meandering Trail

Jordana's Hiking Adventures: Appalachian Trail Thru-Hike 2013

AirportsMadeSimple

Travel Tips and Destinations

The Modern Home Kitchen

Inspiring the Way You Cook

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Annalee in Italy

food, travel, life...manger, voyage, vivre...mangiare, viaggiare, vivere...

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

Առլեն Շահվերդյան

Գրական, ստեղծագործական, բնապահպանական գործունեությունը

Diamond Mike Watson

Jeweler, Time Traveler, Author, and Why Mom Deserves a Diamond contest founder.

ATELIER c157

- ART & PHOTOGRAPHY -

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

sierralei

bits and pieces of my life and what i love about it

Small Kitchen Chronicles

Cooking and living big in the small space you've got.

tuesdaynightboyfriend

boy + girl + football (+dog)

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

